2010 In Review: Part 2

More mixes, tracks and songs that made Gone Out’s 2010.

Mix of the year

Yet another mix promoted by the Development crew, I’ve not stopped listening to this by the 6th Borough Project since I downloaded it in May. My favourites are the Revenge Edit of UK salsa and jazz pianist Alex Wilson’s cover of Chaka Khan’s ‘Ain’t Nobody’ and the instrumental of Mark Morrison’s ‘Return Of The Mack’.

6th Borough Project – Blend II (Full Mix) by warmhq

Album of the year

The Heart, released on Tokyo Dawn Records, is definitely not dancefloor material but this is my favourite compilation of 2010. I bought it just before I went to New York and its alternative R&B and hip-hop is perfect daydreaming material, i.e for listening to while walking around the streets and on the Subway. Alongside Going Out, daydreaming is one of my favourite activities. All of the tracks are amazing, but since Newcastle DJ LKP introduced ‘The Heart’ to me via the DJ Asparagus remix of Hygher Baby’s ‘Let You Go’, you can be introduced the same way too.

Hygher Baby – Let U Go (DJ Asparagus Remix) – As played on Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide by DJ Asparagus

Song of the year

Timmy Regisford’s mix of Peven Everett’s (the vocalist from Roy Davis Jnr’s track Gabriel) ‘Burning Hot’ was a very close second, but the resident DJ from New York club Shelter has gone one better with ‘At The Club’ featuring Lynn Lockamy. You won’t see me anywhere but the dancefloor when this Timmy Regisford (again) and Adam Rios remix is played.

Wait, one more…

It reminds me of UK Garage music when it was done properly. I think? I don’t really know, I can’t be bothered to chinstroke about it. It’s just really good.

Happy new year everyone! X

2 responses

  1. DJ Asparagus

    thanks for the props!

    02/09/2013 at 10:17 am

    • No problem. Thank you for reading and most important, producing amazing music!

      02/09/2013 at 8:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers