The Parklife Weekender line up: My top 5 acts

I was very excited to wake up to The Parklife Weekender line up announcement yesterday. The organisers have, in my opinion, surpassed themselves with this year’s annual event, which is taking place on Saturday June 11 and Sunday June 12 this year. With it’s focal point of Manchester artists and clubnights still intact, international and national acts like Grandmaster Flash, Mark Ronson, Kelis, Katy B and Skream and Benga are the cherry on the top of this cake of festival dreams. Plus the headliner is yet to be announced. Simply put, the Plattfields Park festival is set to be a big one this year. Here are my top five acts/DJs that will be performing (in no particular order)

Amanda Blank

Blank will be lighting up the stage hosted by legendary night Chibuku on Saturday with the lovely Spank Rock.

DJ Marky

I really like drum’n’bass but I love it when it sounds like this. Really looking forward to The Ape X Metropolis stage on Sunday. This current track of his featuring Miri is on repeat on my Ipod – and in my head – at the moment; it’s also a great sunshine track that should fit in nicely with the good weather I’m trying to convice myself will be guaranteed.

DJ Shadow

LOVE this rework of Shadow’s 2002 track Six Days.

Horse Meat Disco

They’ve got a full stage to themselves on the Sunday and they’ll be sharing it alongside a live set from headliner Tensnake, The Revenge, Mark E, Cutloose DJs and Krysko. I was lucky to attend a roller disco ran by HMD last year but I was too busy falling over to hear what they were playing so I’m excited to see them without rollerskates getting in my way.

Broke ‘n’ English

If you can manage to get lines like ‘I eat guys like Hula Hoops’ over a sick loop and beat, that’s enough for me. Broke ‘n’ English have been around for a bit now but they never ever fail to dissapoint. Check them out on the Juicy stage on Sunday.

You can find the full line up and buy tickets, plus more, here.

Parklife Festival, Plattfields Park, Fallowfield, Manchester, Sat June 11 & Sun June 12, 2011

Leave a Reply

