It’s been a while…

…and I’m very excited to be attending my first ever Manchester International Festival (MIF) event since the bi-annual showcase of original works from global talent such as Damon Albarn, Marina Abramovic and De La Soul, began back in 2007.

I’m going to see Victoria Wood’s ‘That Day We Sang’ with my parents on Saturday (9th July) and for those that don’t know me, it’s not an event I would have selected to see. Snoop Dogg? Yes. Candi Staton? Definitely. Dave Haslam and Dave Lee aka Joey Negro? Really unhappy I don’t have a ticket for their sold out party. But the lady playing jolly piano-based comedy songs on television? Hmm.

For one, the comedian, actress and musician has her writing and directing hat on so I can’t imagine the piano making an appearance. And two, her description of the show – which sounds excellently northern – in the video below, doesn’t include any mention of Acorn Antiques so I feel pretty lucky have a ticket for a world premiere performance about Manchester and its people.

‘That Day We Sang’, Manchester Opera House, Wed 6 July – Sun 17 July, 7.30 and matinee performances throughout the run, £16 / £23.50 / £29.50 / £36

Find out about, and book tickets for, MIF events, here. Be quick; it’s closing on 17th July.

Leave a Reply

