Oh my

I saw The Artist on Sunday. It’s a silent movie about a romance between two film stars at the beginning and the end of their careers. It’s getting all kinds of critical acclaim.

It is very good but what really  got my attention is the film’s hair, costume and make up.  I’m caught up in how they reflect the film’s central message about change and our reaction to it.

The intricate detailing, materials and cut of the clothes reflect the lead character’s relationship in eye-catching and entertaining ways.

Critics will tell you all about how The Artist is an ‘exquisitely judged, gloriously funny and achingly tender film‘.  I wholeheartedly support this statement by The Guardian’s Peter Bradshaw. But while I swooned at the moment George Valentin (Jean Dujardin) and Peppy Miller (Bérénice Bejo) realised they were in love along with everyone else in the theatre, I also thought: ‘I wonder if I could get my hair to do that?’.

To find out more about the looks that appear in The Artist, read this interview with the film’s costume designer, Mark Bridges.

Pictures courtesy of Filmofilia.com

For showings of ‘The Artist’ in Manchester cinemas, visit the websites for Cornerhouse, AMC or The Filmworks.

Leave a Reply

