Album Preview: ‘Black Radio’ by The Robert Glasper Experiment

 

The Robert Glasper Experiment has been present in many hip-hop and soul fans lives for a long time but I’ve never known that until now. I feel quite ignorant to know they’ve worked with Kanye West, MeShell Ndegeocello and Bilal among others – and I’ve taken it for granted. I’ve learnt that musicians behind the ‘stars’ deserve more credit. Their fifth album ‘Black Radio’ will be first in a long line in new purchases and listens for me.

Released next Tuesday (28/02/2012), ‘Black Radio’ draws from jazz, hip hop, r’n’b and rock and features collaborates with yasiin bey (Mos Def), Lalah Hathaway, Erykah Badu plus Musiq Soulchild and Chrisette Michelle as you can see/hear above.

I selected ‘Ah Yeah’  as a feature because it’s a relaxing track on a Tuesday evening and I relate to the lyrics. I also love the title track with yasiin bey.

For more information and to pre- order ‘Black Radio’, check out The Robert Glasper Experiment official website.

Leave a Reply

