New Year musings

2013 was a quiet year for me considering all of the events, gigs and parties I’ve been to in the past. Factors such as money and, yes, lack of enthusiasm played a part in a lack of activity on Gone Out.

My social life in 2013 was as desolate as this woodland. Kind of.

My social life in 2013 was as desolate as this woodland. Kind of.

Excuses over; it’s a fitting time for a fresh start.  The recent closures of Jabez Clegg, which hosted much-loved comedy night XS Malarkey, and The Black Lion in Salford, plus changes in management at the Lass O’Gowrie have all been sad news for the Manchester arts and culture scene. It’s reminded me how Gone Out can and should play a part in promoting the good news.

I have a busy few months planned and I’m genuinely excited. I’ve put together a short preview of what I’ll be up to in January. I hope you’ll be as interested as I am.

Season Launch Preview: Oldham Coliseum, 13/01

I always unexpectedly end up at Oldham Coliseum  (I’m not sure why I’m shocked about this because I’m from Oldham). For example, I was woken up by a text from my dad on New Years Eve morning, saying we were off to see the Jack & The Beanstalk pantomime that day. The Fairy was my favourite character. Anyway, the theatre is opening its doors for a free preview evening, with complimentary food and drink too. 2014 shows include Toby Hadoke, The Marriage of Figaro, Kate Rusby and Stuart Maconie.

Free, 7.30, 13/01/2014, Oldham Coliseum, Fairbottom Street, Oldham OL1 3SW, coliseum.org.uk

Trevor Noah: City Varities Music Hall (Leeds), 20/01

I’m very lucky to have secured tickets for ‘Trevor Noah: The Racist’ tour. I’ll be popping over to the City Varieties Music Hall in Leeds (now sold out) to watch because when I bought the tickets in November, Noah’s 2 performances at The Lowry were sold out. I’m on the hype train, big time, after seeing him on the BBC’s ‘Live At The Apollo’ and can’t wait to see him live. If you’re feeling the same, it’s worth an attempt to pick up seats at dates where tickets are still on sale.

trevornoah.com/shows

Dwele: Band On The Wall, 23/01

Dwele’s music speaks for itself. He’s performing his first LP, ‘Subject’ – one of my favourite albums – in its entirety plus further favourites from throughout his career. I hope he performs this.

£20 (plus booking fee), Doors 7.30, 23/01/2014, Band On The Wall, 25 Swan Street, Manchester M4 5JZ, bandonthewall.org

The Manchester College Live presents: A History of Hip HopThe Manchester College Live – The History of Hip Hop: Band On The Wall, 27/01

A night dedicated to hip-hop history sounds super interesting. Students from The Manchester College have put together an evening of break dancers, DJs and graffiti artists. They will also be joined by performers from my favourite Mancunian improvisational night ‘Freestyle Fictionary’ plus M T Ultra and the interestingly named X-Men B Team, among others.

£5.00, Doors 7.30, 27/01/2014, Band On The Wall, 25 Swan Street,Manchester M4 5JZ,bandonthewall.org

Leave a Reply

