In a purple haze

It’s obvious from my ADTV review but Prince and 3rd Eye Girl’s show at the Academy last week affected me. I don’t want to go on about it but I can only reflect on my thoughts over these past few days. Basically, I’ve become a genuine fan after years of being curious about Prince’s work.

Prince is currently concentrating on guitar-led rock’n’roll for the upcoming 3rd Eye Girl album, Plectrum Electrum.  It’s never been a go to genre for me (my cravings for his soulful side has meant I’ve had Breakfast Can Wait on repeat),  but I couldn’t help but being absolutely drawn in by watching a band that knows it inside out. I’m grateful to have learnt about a style of music I respected but never fully understood.

I do believe, this is exactly how it should be done:

Leave a Reply

