This weekend, I would most like to… be a music festival volunteer

sftoc

When Sounds From The Other City’s (SFTOC) organisers took to Twitter looking for volunteers to man their 10th anniversary party taking place this Sunday (04/05), I decided to go ahead and make the most of the opportunity.

Free access to see the likes of Rosie Lowe, PINS, Werkha, enjoy food (prepared and served by Drum and Baste, Fire and Salt BBQ and Deli Lama) and drink plus the opportunity to make new contacts at this much-loved festival are obvious reasons for me to offer my services.

I also loved the unique, off the wall vibe when I attended in the past, such as being able to walk through Salford to discover the madness of Hotpants Romance in the middle of a pub and this time around, I’m intrigued at being able to dance to jungle in a church. So I was more than interested in being a part of it all.

Pre-event

I was invited by Jamie, SFTOC’s lovely volunteer organiser lady, to Islington Mill for a meeting with my fellow volunteers on Wednesday. We got to know one another and learn about the SFTOC venues. We also met Mark and Riv, who form the rest of the management team, were briefed on the stages plus given a tour of the venues.

Jamie assigned roles to each member of the group, including ticket exchange roles, manning the various venues such as The Old Pint Pot and The Angel Centre. I was told that I’d be Jamie’s right-hand man, keeping a eye on everything going on. Which is pretty exciting.

I’m looking forward to getting stuck in and experience what promises to be a great day, from an operational point of view. I’ll be tweeting updates and pictures on the day @karolynsgoneout and afterwards there’ll be full report of what it’s like to be a music festival volunteer, here. There are so many festivals going on this summer, in the UK and abroad, perfect whether you want work experience, the chance to see some of your favourite artists for free or just have a laugh.

You can pick up a SFTOC ticket from skiddle.com or in person at Piccadilly Records on Oldham Street and Common on Edge Street.

Leave a Reply

